How to eat well while pregnant (or nursing) and BUSY

Leave a comment

March 22, 2013 by currbell

I worked hard to eat just what I should with the girls, and it really paid off. The twins went full term and were born bright eyed, alert, and healthy. I knew this is was a gift I wanted to give all my babies, but I also knew it would be hard to do with so many more responsibilities, and a budget to stay within. It took me much of the pregnancy to figure out a system that worked for me. But I got highly motivated in the second trimester, due to the fact that I would start feeling very sick if I didn’t eat every three hours. What worked for me was to make a large batch of something to keep on hand ready to snack on as needed, because there was never time to fix something when I was hungry. For the most part I didn’t share these snacks with my toddlers, or else I knew they would be gone in a snap. Sometimes this meant hiding my head in the fridge and gobbling away. Hey, ya do what you have to! I searched for things that were high in protein or otherwise very nourishing, and tried not to eat only peanut butter, even though it IS so easy. There’s a great list of ideas here. and below is the list of additional things I came up with.DSC_0461

  • Baked Sweet Potatoes– I love to eat these like a baked potato with butter, sour cream, cheddar cheese, bacon. I remember getting out of bed in the middle of the night and eating one cold right out of the fridge several times.
  • Cottage Cheese Pancakes– 1 large container of cottage cheese (I think thye are about 16 oz), 6 eggs separated, 1 teaspoon baking powder, 1 tablespoon sugar, 1 teaspoon vanilla, 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg, 1 2/3 cup flour Preheat griddle on medium low. Beat together cottage cheese, egg yolks, and vanilla. Combine dry ingredients (or if you are busy and tired like me, just measure them right into the cottage cheese and call it a day). Beat the egg whites until stiff. Stir the flour mixture into the cottage cheese mixture. Gently fold in the beaten egg whites; they should remain somewhat distinct in the batter. Add about 1 tablespoon of butter or oil to the griddle and when it’s hot add the batter by the heaping tablespoon, making sure to include some egg whites in each spoonful. Cook until lightly browned on the bottom, 3 to 5 minutes, then turn and cool until the second side is brown. These taste great hot, and I found they kept well in the fridge too, though they don’t stay as fluffy
  • Hummus– I like it with bread or veggies or crackers, but I will also just eat it by the spoonful if I haven’t much time. This is very cheep to make up yourself, especially if you take the time to soak your own beans the night before.
  • Toasted chickpeas– I just throw them in a skillet with some oil and lots of diced garlic, and take them out when they are browned and top with salt and pepper. I thought this recipe looked interesting too, but I haven’t had the chance to give it a try yet.
  • Granola- I make my own, because it’s so much cheaper and I can make it with a lot less sugar. I put in LOTS of nuts and seeds, whatever I get get the cheapest, which for me is usually a mixture of sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, sesame seeds, coconut, and almonds. I like to use organic black strap molasses (I think it’s important to use organic in this case since it is a concentrated by-product of white sugar) because molasses is so high in iron and other minerals good for pregnancy. Granola is great on it’s own, with milk or yogurt.
  • Eggnog or pudding- This is one of my “ish” recipes, meaning I don’t measure, so I can just give you an idea of how I make it, since I just dump and glugg my ingredients into the blender. 1 egg, 1 1/2 cups of milk, pinch of salt, around 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg, 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract, 1 teaspoon of honey. I wouldn’t make this in large batches, but only what you want to drink at the time. I’m not freaked out in the least by using raw eggs, though store bought eggs to freak me out a bit in any context. Plenty of traditional recipes use raw egg, like mayo for instance. It if does worry you, add a few tablespoon of corn starch or arrowroot powder (the healthier choice) and cook in on medium low heat on the stove and make pudding. Both are yummy. I found this to be especially useful if eggs were making me gag…but I really want to eat eggs when I am prego.
  • Homemade Power Bars–  These are WAYYYY too good.
  • Baked Oatmeal– I found this last week on a friend’s Pinterest. Stink’n awesome! We’re calling it breakfast cake around here. I lowered the sugar to 1 tablespoon, the raisins to about a cup, and raised to flower to 1/4 cup to make it a little more cake like. It tastes like a cross between cake and muffins. I plan on experimenting with different flavors, anything you would see in a muffin basically: banana nut, cranberry nut, chocolate chip and coconut, carrot cake, pumpkin…the possibilities go on and on.

Anything to add? I love to hear it. Blessings!c

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers

Products I LOVE

Supermom
