Nesting and Organizing in the kitchen

6

January 24, 2013 by currbell

DSC_0008There’s been a lot of nesting going on around here. Pregnancy certainly has it’s perks *smile*. The Man promised to make me these shelves as a Christmas present, and just recently got some free time to tackle it. I was so tickled with how it came out that I had to share. So now I have a little cooking station! Doesn’t it look lovely? Since we have an open floor plan and I spend a lot of time in the kitchen I’ve worked to try and make it a place that I like to be in.

Here are some other little touches I have done in the kitchen that I really enjoy:

  • Some “vases” (empty caper bottles really) wrapped with florist wire at the top to hang on a straight pin (one made for sewing…I’ve used these over the years to hang most of my pictures. Love them because they are cheep and only leave a tiny hole in the sheet rock) hammered into the wood trim at my windows and filled with flowers and things picked by little hands outside.
  • A piece of plexiglass hung behind the stove as a splash guard, with family photos taped to the back, and verses written with a dry erase marker on the front. Helps me remember to put a little love in my cooking. I was thinking yesterday it would be nice to put a small piece of plexy glass behind the sink and under the window so I could work on a memory verse while I do the dishes.
  • Chalk board paint on the wall. The very top has a Bible verse. The middle has notes and reminders, and the bottom the girls color on with sidewalk chalk. Then when it needs to be erased I give them a little glass of water and a paint brush and they “paint”. It’s great to have a way to keep them busy and near me in the kitchen but not under foot.DSC_0013

I always feel like the house needs a bit of a face lift in January after all the decorations come down. It’s been fun trying to find ways to do this and organize while spend as little money as possible. The first thing I had to do was to really open my eyes as look around the house. It’s so easy to kind of mentally block the messy disorganized places. Then I had to figure out what to do with the mess, starting by getting rid of as much as I could. My standard if tough, no matter who gave it to us or how much we spent on it: “Is this thing a blessing to us?” It could make our lives more beautiful, be useful, or loved, but if it’s not a blessing it some way, it’s got to go, with prayers that it will bless someone else.   I also prayed a lot while going through the house and looking for things to re-purpose for organizing. I ended up not needing to buy anything. I found several nice sturdy small packaging boxes to use in needed places, and when I get the time I plan on covering them with some fabric. Some other small things I’ve done at different times to give the house a pick-me-up is move the art work in the house around to different places, make new throw pillows covers, bring sticks, evergreens, nests, flowers, rocks, houseplants…anything that’s from nature inside as a center piece or bookend, and of course re-painting the walls (or maybe the ceiling like I have done). There are a lot of way to use books as decorations too…which is handy for me since I have a LOT of them. Don’t overlook the way your house smells either. Well, what about you? Have any cheep easy ideas to share? I’d love to hear them.

Blessings!c

6 thoughts on “Nesting and Organizing in the kitchen

  1. Bridget says:

    Loooooooooooove the shelves!!!

  2. Lisa says:

    What a cheerful kitchen! I’d love to see a photo of your backsplash behind the stove. Sounds so neat!

  3. Kelly says:

    Your home is just beautiful! I love the shelves!
    I’m hoping to do a chalkboard on the wall sometime soon. It would be so fun! I also love your idea of memory verses on the plexi glass.

  4. How lovely, warm & sunny your kitchen is! Wish i could pop over for a cup of tea with you. So glad to be able to “follow” your life, from afar. ((Hugs)) ~ k.b.

  5. Nicole says:

    love it!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers

Products I LOVE

Supermom
