Mama-made-easy: Creamy Pumpkin Oatmeal

6

November 1, 2012 by currbell

I mentioned a while back that to make things easier we eat oatmeal each morning. I was surprised to see we have been eating oatmeal for breakfast for over a year now, and still it’s the meal that the girls eat the best, AND The Man hasn’t gotten tired of it yet. Amazing. One of the things I try to do is flavor the oatmeal with the seasons, and this year I came up with a great one to put in the fall mix: pumpkin oatmeal. We all just loved it, creamy and delicious. I can’t wait to cook up the pumpkins we have for decorations and make some more purée so I can stir up another batch. And here is another recipe I can’t wait to try when we have some more pumpkin purée…umm or this one!

I’ll just tell you how I’ve made it for us and you can change it for what works best for you.

  • 3 cups water
  • 1 cup pumpkin purée.
  • 1 cup milk (or cream)
  • 2 1/2 cups oatmeal
  • pumpkin pie spices to taste (think cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, cloves, allspice, if you don’t have a pre-mix)
  • Pinch of salt
  • Chopped nuts, maple syrup or honey and cream for toppings

Bring the water to a boil and add pumpkin puree and milk. Give it time to warm up and reduce the heat to low. Add oatmeal and spices. Allow more time than usual for the oatmeal to cook and stir it frequently to make sure it doesn’t scorch…but if you like pumpkin don’t worry it will be well worth it.

I just love eating with the seasons!
c

6 thoughts on “Mama-made-easy: Creamy Pumpkin Oatmeal

  1. Quinn says:

    I’m having a pumpkin temper tantrum right now.

    I had mine sitting on a sunny spot to finish ripening and the kids stabbed, scraped, or whatever and all the damaged spots molded so the boys took them out and used them for target practice.

    I have one lone pumpkin left (I think one from your seeds, which by the way I saved some of those just in case- glad I did!) and if anything happens to it there will be no pumpkin anything this year.

    A shame, because this looks so good!!! ❤

    • currbell says:

      Oh my! I would have a pumpkin temper tantrum too. That’s just painful! The couple of pumpkin plants I had died in that crazy early summer dry dry heat we had. I bought all these from the Amish. So you made it farther than me!

      • Quinn says:

        My uncle brought over some pie pumpkins to give to the pigs and I may have stolen a enough out of the barn to make about 8 pounds of puree last night! So this was breakfast and it was delicious- Chloe LOVED it! And even Hannah who finds a way to throw out her oatmeal every time I serve it ate it. Thanks so much for sharing 🙂

      • currbell says:

        Ha! I’m so glad ya’ll loved it as much as us. And I LOVE that God gave you some pumpkins when you thought you would have none. Isn’t it amazing the detailed way He loves and cares for us?

  2. Mama B. says:

    All three recipes sound fabulous. So, I’m wondering…how would it be to substitute sweet potato or butternut squash!?

    • currbell says:

      I don’t see why not. I think if I was using sweet potato in the oatmeal I would use just a little more liquid since it’s so thick.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers

Products I LOVE

Supermom
