Seeking Simplicity

Leave a comment

October 26, 2012 by currbell

I have a love-hate relationship with de-cluttering. I dislike taking the time to sort through my worldly good regularly, and at the same time I love how much better I live when I do. With under 700 sf of living space for five people (counting the new baby on the way…we may or may not get the upstairs finished before the little one arrives) this has certainly been on my mind. I wanted to share two quotes that have really stuck with me on the the topics. Blessings!c

“I have been in more cluttered homes than I can count, and the one factor I see in every single situation is people whose lives hinge on what they own instead of who they are. These people have lost their way. They no longer own their stuff- their stuff owns them. I am convinced that this is more the norm than the exception in this country. At some point, we start to believe that the more we own, the better off we are. In times past and in other cultures, people believe that one of the worst things that can happen is for someone to be possessed to have a demon exercise power over you. Isn’t that what being inundated with possessions is- being possessed?”

Peter Walsh It’s All too Much

“Sell your possessions and give to the needy. Provide yourselves with moneybags that do not grow old, with treasure in the heavens that does not fail, where no thief approaches and no moth destroys. For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.” Jesus Luke 12:33-34

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers

Products I LOVE

Supermom
